Plan Adoption

Early in the planning process, members of the Skagit Natural Hazards Mitigation Steering Committee met with the Board of Skagit County Commissioners, the Swinomish Indian Senate, Upper Skagit Tribal Council, and the Mayor of each municipality within the county to discuss the reasons and benefits for developing and adopting a multi-jurisdictional natural hazard mitigation plan.

Following these discussions, a Resolution for participating in a multi-jurisdiction natural hazard mitigation plan was prepared and presented for signature to each city/town council, the Swinomish Indian Senate, the Upper Skagit Tribal Council, the Board of Skagit County Commissioners, and Skagit County Dike District #12 via their regular agenda process.

Each of the above-referenced Indian Tribes and jurisdictions agreed to participate in the development of a multi-jurisdiction natural hazard mitigation plan by approving the resolution.

Summary of Participating Resolutions		
Indian Tribe/Agency/Jurisdiction	Approving Entity	Resolution Number
Swinomish Indian Tribal Community	Swinomish Indian Senate	2002- 03- 020
Upper Skagit Indian Tribe	Upper Skagit Tribal Council	2003-018
City of Anacortes	Anacortes City Council	1621
City of Burlington	Burlington City Council	11-2002
Town of Concrete	Concrete Town Council	2003-01
Town of Hamilton	Hamilton Town Council	02-2002
Town of La Conner	La Conner Town Council	321
Town of Lyman	Lyman Town Council	2002-5
City of Mount Vernon	Mount Vernon City Council	616
City of Sedro-Woolley	Sedro-Woolley City Council	670-03
Skagit County	Board of County Commissioners	R20020433
Skagit County Dike District #12	Dike District Commissioners	7-9-2002

In addition to the above-listed resolutions, a cooperative Interlocal Agreement (Skagit County Contract C20030204) was signed by Skagit County Dike District #12, the City of Burlington and Skagit County for the purpose of developing this multi-jurisdictional plan to meet the requirements of the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000.

As part of the plan adoption process, each city/town council, the Swinomish Indian Senate, the Upper Skagit Tribal Council, the Board of Skagit County Commissioners, and Skagit County Dike District #12 signed resolutions formally adopting the **Skagit County Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan**.

Summary of Adopting Resolutions			
Indian Tribe/Agency/Jurisdiction	Approving Entity	Resolution Number	
Swinomish Indian Tribal Community	Swinomish Indian Senate	2003-09-213	
Upper Skagit Indian Tribe	Upper Skagit Tribal Council	2003-53	
City of Anacortes	Anacortes City Council	1646	
City of Burlington	Burlington City Council	13-2003	
Town of Concrete	Concrete Town Council	2003-11	
Town of Hamilton	Hamilton Town Council	07-2003	
Town of La Conner	La Conner Town Council	337	
Town of Lyman	Lyman Town Council	2003-3	
City of Mount Vernon	Mount Vernon City Council	638	
City of Sedro-Woolley	Sedro-Woolley City Council	681-03	
Skagit County	Board of County Commissioners	R20030274	
Skagit County Dike District #12	Dike District Commissioners	8-12-03-2	

The **Skagit County Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan** was formally promulgated by signature of the Board of County Commissioners; Skagit County Dike District #12; Chairperson of the Swinomish Indian Senate; Chairperson of the Upper Skagit Tribal Council; and the mayors of Anacortes, Burlington, Concrete, Hamilton, La Conner, Lyman, Mount Vernon, and Sedro-Woolley on September 18, 2003.