## **Skagit County Agriculture Advisory Board**

Meeting Summary – November 13th, 2024

Commissioners Hearing Room/MS Teams

#### Members in Attendance

| Michael Hughes | Terry Sapp        | Steve Wright    |
|----------------|-------------------|-----------------|
| Kim Mower      | Cindy Kleinhuizen | Justin Hayton   |
| Steve Skrinde  | Kraig Knutzen     | Michael Trafton |

#### Others in Attendance

Jack Moore, Director Skagit County Planning & Development Services (PDS) Malia Agpawa, Skagit County Planning & Development Services (PDS) Commissioner Peter Browning, Skagit County Commissioner's Office River Elderholly, Community Member

#### Call to Order, Introductions

Michael Hughes called the meeting to order at 6:03 pm.

## Approval of Meetings Summary

Approval of October meeting minutes pushed to December 11<sup>th</sup>.

## Guest Speaker

## Jack Moore, Director Skagit County Planning and Development

Jack updated the group on agritourism in Skagit County, and what that will look like moving forward.

- Jack introduced the idea of having a community group with diverse backgrounds to comment and advise on agritourism. The hope for this project is to fun a facilitator for this group.
- It was mentioned that the Planning and Development department, would take the comments from this group, into consideration.

• The Planning and Development department is hoping to adopt a new code change regarding the types of agritourism allowed in Skagit County.

## Jack Moore, Director Skagit County Planning and Development

Jack updated the group on the proposed 2025 comprehensive plan, specifically the Environment, Climate Resiliency, and Climate Integration sections.

- The group's main concerns with climate change would be availability to water (in the future), and food security for farmers.
- If we get extreme climate change, more farmers are expected to be coming to Washington to use the valuable farmland that has been preserved.

## **Old Business**

Nothing to report at this time.

## **Committee Reports**

a. Economic Development- Don McMoran (Chair), Murray Benjamin, John Morrison

Nothing at this time.

b. Critical Areas- Nels Lagerlund (Chair), Murray Benjamin, John Morrison

Nothing at this time.

c. Land Use- Terry Sapp (Chair), Cindy Kleinhuizen, Kraig Knutzen, Steve Omdal, Michael Trafton, & Don McMoran

Nothing at this time.

d. Flood, Drainage, and Irrigation- Kraig Knutzen (Chair), Nels Lagerlund, & Steve Wright

Nothing at this time.

e. WSU Update- Don McMoran

Nothing at this time.

# Adjourn

Justin Hayton moved to adjourn; Kim Mower seconded. Meeting adjourned at 7:31 pm.

Next meeting is December 11<sup>th</sup>, 2024, at 6pm