Skagit County Agriculture Advisory Board

Meeting Summary – December 11th, 2024

Commissioners Hearing Room/MS Teams

Members in Attendance

Michael Hughes Terry Sapp Steve Wright

Cindy Kleinhuizen Justin Hayton Nels Lagerlund

Don McMoran

Proxy Designations

Terry Sapp for Kraig Knutzen

Others in Attendance

Jack Moore, Director Skagit County Planning & Development Services (PDS)

Malia Agpawa, Skagit County Planning & Development Services (PDS)

Commissioner Peter Browning, Skagit County Commissioner's Office

Call to Order, Introductions

Michael Hughes called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.

Approval of Meetings Summary

Nels Lagerlund moved to approve the meeting minutes from October, Justin Hayton seconded.

Justin Hayton moved to approve the meeting minutes from November, Cindy Kleinhuizen seconded.

New Business

- Jack Moore provided a short summary of the commissioners Remand on Skagit County Agritourism code changes
 - Jack had some additional questions on the remand, including determining whether agritourism should be treated the same on either side of the pipeline.

- Another topic that needs clarification would be determining whether temporary use/events are sufficiently detailed in Skagit County Code for agritourism activities within Ag-NRL zoned lands.
- Nels Lagerlund had questions about the commissioners' remand
 - o Is there a specific reason the county is being split by the pipeline for this remand?
 - o Which agritourism businesses will this remand apply to?
- Terry Sapp expressed concern about splitting the county in two parts at the pipeline.
- Commissioner Browning gave a brief overview of what agritourism businesses will look like going forward.
- Commissioner Browning recommended that Matt Steinman fill the vacant position on the board for district 3.
- Michael Hughes has been nominated to serve as the chair of the AAB. Effective January 2025
- Kraig Knutzen has been nominated to serve as vice chair of the AAB. Effective January 2025

Committee Reports

- a. **Economic Development** Don McMoran (Chair), Murray Benjamin, John Morrison Nothing at this time.
- b. **Critical Areas-** Nels Lagerlund (Chair), Murray Benjamin, John Morrison Nothing at this time.
- c. Land Use- Terry Sapp (Chair), Cindy Kleinhuizen, Kraig Knutzen, Michael Trafton, & Don McMoran

Nothing at this time.

d. **Flood, Drainage, and Irrigation**- Kraig Knutzen (Chair), Nels Lagerlund, & Steve Wright

Nothing at this time.

- e. WSU Update- Don McMoran
- New positions open
 - Grants Coordinator
 - 4H Coordinator
- February 21st there will be a potato workshop
- Dr. Carol Miles will not be continuing as director of WSU Northwest Rec.
 - o She will, however, continue to stay on as a researcher for the facility

Adjourn

Justin Hayton moved to adjourn; Cindy Kleinhuizen seconded. Meeting adjourned at 7:04 pm.

Next meeting is January 8th, 2025, at 6:00pm.