

Skagit County Planning Commission Vacancy Announcement

County Commissioner Districts 1 and 3

December 1, 2008

The Skagit County Board of Commissioners seeks applicants to fill vacancies on the Skagit County Planning Commission from County Commissioner Districts 1 and 3. Commissioner District 1 includes the salt water islands, the greater Anacortes area, and the area around La Conner extending south to the County line. District 1 also includes the area north of Hwy 20 and west of I-5. The Alger area south to the Burlington city limit line is also included in Commissioner District 1. District 3 includes the greater Burlington/Sedro-Woolley area extending east along the Skagit River corridor and north to the Skagit/Whatcom County line. Beginning just east of Lake Cavanaugh, District 3 comprises the entire County north to south and east to the County line. Maps identifying the District's exact boundaries may be found online at www.skagitcounty.net or on the reverse side of this page. Applicants must reside within Commissioner Districts 1 or 3 respectively.

The Board of County Commissioners appoints Planning Commission members for 4-year terms, which may be renewed by mutual agreement. The Planning Commission consists of nine members, three from each County Commissioner District to assure countywide representation. The Board of County Commissioners seeks to ensure that the Planning Commission is a balanced committee representing many different viewpoints. Current Planning Commission members have backgrounds including real-estate, agriculture, forestry, business, education, medicine, and others.

According to its bylaws, the Planning Commission "assist[s] the planning department in carrying out its duties, including assistance in the preparation and execution of the comprehensive plan and recommendations to the department for the adoption of official controls and/or amendments thereto." In practice, the Planning Commission advises the Board of County Commissioners and the Planning and Development Services Department on the direction of future growth and development in unincorporated Skagit County. It reviews the County's Comprehensive Land Use Plan and Map and its Unified Development Code, including regulations related to zoning, critical areas, shoreline management, and other aspects of land use and development.

Planning Commission members attend an average of one meeting per month (more frequent meetings may occur during especially busy periods). Additional non-meeting time is also required for reviewing planning documents and public comments. Commission meetings last approximately three hours and are typically held in the evening on Tuesdays or Thursdays.

Service on the Planning Commission is unpaid; however, members may obtain reimbursement for travel expenses to and from meetings. The Board of County Commissioners expects to make an appointment in early 2009 for immediate service of up to two new Planning Commissioners from each of the two Districts.

Interested individuals should send a letter of interest and statement of qualifications to: Skagit County Board of Commissioners, Attn: JoAnne Giesbrecht, Re: Planning Commission Vacancy, 1800 Continental Place, Mount Vernon, WA, 98273, no later than Friday, December 31, 2008. For additional information, please contact: Carly Ruacho, (360) 336-9410, ext. 5582, carlyr@co.skagit.wa.us.