Treasurer: Jackie Brunson
Real Estate Excise Tax
Excise Processing Cut-off Time is 4:00 Daily
Any transfer of ownership record requires an excise tax affidavit per Washington State Law. Supporting documents supplied with the excise tax affidavit must be recorded with the Recording and/or Licensing Divisions of the Skagit County Auditor.
Excise tax on the sale of real or personal property goes to support common schools. The payment of excise tax on a sale must be paid at the time of processing and within 30 days of the date of the supporting document or penalty and interest accrues. A minimum fee of $10.00 is due with each excise affidavit.
On claims for exempt transactions requiring a Washington Administrative Code, please consult an attorney or the Washington State Department of Revenue for assistance.